DUI Let Our Experience Be Your Guide

DUI Attorney Coeur d’Alene

Drunk Driving Defense in Idaho

A DUI arrest can start a chain of events that is often devastating. From jail time to community service, court-ordered rehab programs, fines, driver’s license suspensions, and more, you could face serious consequences for a conviction. The effects of which are long-lasting and can prevent you from taking out loans, applying for housing, and getting a job. If you’ve been charged with driving under the influence, you need an experienced Idaho DUI attorney right away.

At Walsh & Lewis PLLC, our DUI lawyers in Coeur d'Alene serve all five counties in Northern Idaho. We have over two decades of experience in defending clients charged with DUI. Our attorneys have taken many DUI cases to jury trials and won. Also, we have fought and won numerous motions to suppress illegally obtained evidence, among other legal actions. Regardless of how dire or complicated your situation may seem, our Idaho DUI attorneys have the experience necessary to help you resolve your problems in a timely and professional manner.

Visit our office today and find out why we are the number one choice of representation for many individuals across Idaho. For more information on how we can help you, contact us at (208) 712-8292!

DUI Penalties in Idaho

If a police officer pulls you over, administers a breathalyzer test, and determines your blood alcohol content to be .08% or above, you will face the following legal repercussions:

Idaho First DUI Offense

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • Up to $1,000 fines
  • Licenses suspension for 90 to 180 days

Idaho Second DUI Offense Within 10 Years

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • 10 days to 1 year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 fines
  • One-year license suspension upon release from confinement
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installation

Idaho Third DUI Offense Within 10 Years

  • Felony charge
  • Mandatory minimum of 30 days in jail, up to 5 years
  • Up to $5,000 fines
  • License suspension for one mandatory year upon release from confinement, up to 5 years
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installation

Refusing a BAC test, such as a breath and blood test, will result in a one-year driver’s license suspension and $250 civil penalty. If your BAC level was .20% or higher, your penalties will be far tougher than if your BAC was .08 or above. These punishments include:

First Offense

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • 10 mandatory days in jail, up to one year
  • Up to $2,000 fines
  • One-year license suspension upon release from confinement

Second Offense Within 5 Years

  • Felony charge
  • 30 mandatory days in county jail or up to 5 years in state jail
  • Up to $5,000 fines
  • License suspension for one mandatory year upon release from confinement, up to 5 years
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installation

Aggravated DUI in Idaho: This is a felony crime that occurs when a driver causes serious injury to another person while driving under the influence. If convicted, you will face enhanced jail time, fines, and license suspension penalties.

Idaho DUI Attorneys

After spending over 30 collective years effectively defending clients against DUI charges, our Idaho DUI lawyers understand that no two cases are the same and are usually extremely stressful for our clients. That’s why we will do everything we can to shoulder your legal burden and guide you through the legal process from start to finish. This includes helping you fill out confusing paperwork, keeping you fully up-to-date about your case at all times, and providing you with well-informed legal counsel.

When you hire Walsh & Lewis PLLC, you get an entire team of legal professionals all fighting for you. As a small firm, we can devote 100% of our efforts to each and every case we take on.

Our Coeur d’Alene DUI lawyers handle all types of DUI cases, including:

  • Felony aggravated DUI
  • Vehicular manslaughter
  • DUI defense, .08 BAC or above
  • Excessive DUI .20 BAC or above
  • CDL DUI defense, .04 BAC or above
  • Second offense DUI within 10 years
  • Expungement of a prior DUI offense
  • ITD hearings, driver’s license suspension
  • Underage DUI .02 BAC or above, minor in possession of alcohol
  • BAC test refusal suspensions, breath test refusal, blood test refusal
  • Felony DUI, third offense within 10 years, and second felony offense with 15 years
  • Speeding, reckless driving, inattentive driving, careless driving, and other traffic violations

To learn more about our DUI attorneys at Walsh & Lewis PLLC and how we can help you, call us today at (208) 712-8292 or contact us online
to schedule a free consultation.

We Put Our Clients First

Read Our Recent Testimonials
  • “I have absolutely no doubt that if my experience with Sean was more, that I could speak to even greater lengths to both just how exceptional an attorney he is as well an individual.”

    - Jesse
  • “I'm so grateful for the people in this office. In the worst time of my life, everyone was kind, knowledgeable, and understanding.”

    - Zachary
  • “Alexandria is upfront and honest about everything and the passion she has towards her clients is absolutely amazing!”

    - Tabetha

Why You Want Us On Your Side

We Provide Result-Driven Strategies
  • We Serve the Five North Idaho Counties
  • Accessibility to Your Attorney
  • Full-Service Criminal & Family Law Firm
  • Over Three Decades of Experience